Click link below picture

.

I Am Not Your Negro, a film built around James Baldwin’s unfinished project examining the slayings of Medgar Evers, Malcolm X, and Martin Luther King Jr., is not a pretty story. But it is an important one.

Both mesmerizing and deeply disturbing, the film mixes Baldwin’s writings and public speeches with visual footage from the 1960s civil rights movement and more recent racial incidents including the beating of Rodney King and protests in Ferguson, Missouri. The result is a compelling meditation on race relations in the United States and what they say about the moral foundation of the nation.

This is not an easy movie to watch, at least for this white woman. It made me flinch; it made me uncomfortable. It made me question my own approach to and position in the world. It made me wonder what James Baldwin would think of me.

.

.

.

Click link below for article and video:

http://www.escapeintolife.com/blog/accidental-critic-i-am-not-your-negro/

.

__________________________________________

 

