Click link below picture

.

Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley (R) resigned from office Monday and pleaded guilty to two counts of violating campaign finance rules.

“I can no longer allow my family, my dear friends, my dedicated staff and cabinet to be subjected to consequences that my past actions have brought upon them,” he said at a Monday afternoon press conference.

“Though I have committed myself to working to improve the lives of the people of our state, there have been times that I have let you and our people down, and I’m sorry for that.”

Bentley’s resignation comes as the state’s House of Representatives begins hearings on his impeachment following allegations he abused his position as the state’s chief executive to cover up an affair with his former aide, Rebekah Caldwell Mason.

.

Image: Breaking News and Opinion on The Huffington Post

.

.

Click link below for article and video:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/alabama-governor-resigns_us_58eb6daee4b00de14104c4cd

.

__________________________________________

 

